This iPhone hack allows you to have secret chats with your friends

Leave a trail when you send and receive text messages on your iPhone. And for the most part, this isn’t a problem. You’ll probably want to save and record these messages, to have a look at them when needed – but there may be times when you want your conversations to be a little more… private.

This is one of the reasons why apps like snap chat And Signal Very popular. However, you don’t need to download a third party app to have more secret conversations on your iPhone. Alternatively, you can use a built-in Apple app to send temporary, hidden messages to your friends and family — and it’s been around ever since iOS 10.

The Notes app lets you collaborate with others on writing notes, whether they’re grocery lists or collections of dad jokes. Anyone sharing a collaborative note can edit it in real time – that’s what you can use to have hidden conversations. You can carry on an incredibly long personal conversation – without any lasting evidence that they ever existed.

To learn how to turn a note into a hidden conversation on iOS, here’s what you need to know. And while you’re at it, check out the The hidden trackpad that lives in your iOS keyboard And these 10 hidden features in iOS 16 that you need to know.

First, create a note in the Notes app

On your iPhone, launch the Notes app and tap Composer button at the bottom right to create a new note. After that, write anything in the note to keep it, otherwise it will be deleted automatically when you exit the note. You can also jump to an already existing note, but it’s best to start over with a new note.

Notes app on iPhone

First, create a new note or go to an existing one.

Nelson Aguilar/CNET

Adjust your note sharing options to add collaborators

Once your note is ready to use, you can start the process of adding another person as a collaborator, which means they can read and edit whatever is in the note. To get started, click more at the top right, then tap Share a note.

Now press Share options And make sure that He can make changes The option is selected under Permission. You should also switch Anyone can add people In case you want to be the only person who can add collaborators to your note. Return to the last page when you have finished configuring these settings.

Notes app on iPhone

Second, manage what your collaborators can do.

Nelson Aguilar/CNET

Add the friends you want to include and share the link

Next, choose a way to share the note: you can send it via text, email, social media, and more. If you scroll on the sharing options, you can also select Copy the linkwhich copies the link of the note to your clipboard and allows you to paste it wherever you want.

In this example, I will choose File Copy the link Option to share the note.

At the top of the Copy Link page, enter the email address or phone number of the person you want to access the note. You can also click File Add Icon to search through your contacts. Add contact to note required – If you share the link without adding a contact, the other person will not be able to see or edit the note, even with the link.

Finally, hit copy connection Copy the link of the note to your clipboard and share it with the collaborator.

Notes app on iPhone

Next, add your collaborator(s).

Nelson Aguilar/CNET

Send confidential messages using Notes

The other person, on the receiving end, should now open the note link and accept the invitation. If they agree, they’ll be redirected to the Notes app and to the collaborative note you just created.

To communicate, just type something in the note, which the other person will be able to see in real time, without having to hit send. They will also receive a notification anytime a note has been changed.

Everyone on the note will see a matching color (just for a moment) so everyone else will know who wrote what. You can also swipe in from the middle of a note to see the name of whoever wrote the message, as well as a timestamp of when the message was written and any corresponding colors.

Notes app on iPhone

Now you can secretly communicate with your friends or family.

Nelson Aguilar/CNET

You can also click File Share a note button (with a check mark icon), go to Joint observation management Then switch Mark all changes. This way, all messages will be permanently marked with the corresponding color, making the conversation easier to read.

And if you want to keep your communications low-key, delete your or the other person’s message to remove them from the note. This way your conversation will be more like a Snapchat, with ephemeral or short-lived messages that strangers can’t see if they’re snooping on your notes. You can do this with any text in the notes, as well as photos, videos, links, graphics, or any other attachments you add to the note.

Permanently delete your secret chat

Not all secret conversations can last forever, so now is the time to end them.

If you are the owner of the note and want to keep the note intact for everyone but prevent them from editing it, you can do that easily. In the upper right, click Show participants button then press Joint observation management. To remove a participant, you can either swipe left on their name and then tap Remove Or you can click on their name and then click on Remove access.

Notes app on iPhone

To end the notes conversation, remove any collaborators or stop sharing the note.

Nelson Aguilar/CNET

In addition, you can click stop sharing option, which will not only remove the participants from the note, but also delete the note from all of their devices.

If you are not the owner of the note, you can just delete the note from the Notes app.

Leave a Comment